General Information
Keynote Speaker

Professor Anthony Grbic, University of Michigan, USA.

Topic: Advances in Electromagnetic Metasurfaces

Abstract: This talk will review advances made by my group over the past few years in the area of electromagnetic metasurfaces. The development of passive metasurfaces with electric, magnetic, as well as magneto-electric and electro-magnetic properties will be described, and their field tailoring properties and functionalities explained. In addition, the development of tunable, and active designs will be presented. The presentation will include two broad classes of metasurfaces. The first class of metasurfaces includes those that can manipulate electromagnetic wavefronts incident from free space. Such metasurfaces can tailor reflected and/or transmitted waves, acting as lenses and/or reflectors with unparalleled field control. The second class of metasurfaces that will be described includes metasurfaces that can guide or radiate waves. These metasurfaces act as either waveguiding structures or support traveling/leaky waves that radiate tailored far-field patterns.

Bio:Anthony Grbic received the B.A.Sc., M.A.Sc., and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Toronto, Canada, in 1998, 2000, and 2005, respectively. In January 2006, he joined the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, where he is currently a Professor. His research interests include engineered electromagnetic structures (metamaterials, metasurfaces, electromagnetic band-gap materials, frequency selective surfaces), plasmonics, antennas, analytical modelling in electromagnetics and optics, microwave circuits, and wireless power transmission systems.
Dr. Grbic received an AFOSR Young Investigator Award as well as an NSF Faculty Early Career Development Award in 2008. In January 2010, he was awarded a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. In 2011, he received an Outstanding Young Engineer Award from the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society, a Henry Russel Award from the University of Michigan, and a Booker Fellowship from the United States National Committee of the International Union of Radio Science. In 2012, he was the inaugural recipient of the Ernest and Bettine Kuh Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award in the Department of Electrical and Computer Science, University of Michigan. He was elected a Fellow of the IEEE in 2016 for contributions to the theory and design of electromagnetic metamaterials.